Honours at Inter school Thinkers’ Conclave 2019 at Mayo College, Ajmer

Posted by on Sep 7, 2019 in School News | Comments Off

On 26 August, 2019, eleven students of The Indian School, namely Vahid Ghanbari Sissan(IX-C), Sifti Sarang Singh(X-A), Anushka Saxena(X-E), Ibrahim Ahmed(XI-C), Krithi Bajaj(XII-B), Jahnnobi Roy(XII-D), Kartik Anand(XII-A), Shrey Gogia(XII-A), Mehar Saxena(XII-B), Darsh Kumar(XII-A) and Epari Pratyaksh Sai(XII-D) along with their teacher, Ms Supriya Sahay, left for Ajmer to participate in the Silver Jubilee Commemorative Young Thinkers’ Conclave to be held at Mayo College Girls’ School. The events were judged by noted theatre and media activist, Mr Parnab Mukherjee.

It was a competition comprising multiple events. The first day of the event required all outstation schools to assemble in the auditorium for registration and a draw of lots. Almost 30 schools from all over India participated in a wide array of events. Springdales School, Pusa Road, Fab India School (Bali), Mayo College (Ajmer), BK Birla Centre for Education (Pune), Birla Vidya Mandir (Nainital), St. Michael’s School (Siliguri) were some of the schools that participated on the grand occasion.

After registration, participants for the Creative Text Review teams got their themes. The theme given to our team, comprising Mehar Saxena, Anushka Saxena and Sifti Singh Sarang, was “Understanding the cycle of power, memory, loneliness, ambition and nothingness.”

On the second day, ie 27 August, at 8 am, the motions for the English Debate were announced and every school got 45 minutes as preparation time. The debate team of The Indian School comprised Shrey Gogia, Mehar Saxena and Jahnnobi Roy. At noon, the participants of the Creative Text Review began their work. Each team received a poem written by Gajanan Madhav Muktibodh and was given 45 minutes to write a critical review of the same.

Early evening saw the commencement of the Creative Script Enactment, which required the students to dramatise 4 lines extracted from the work prepared by the Creative Text Review team. The multimedia teams were given 5 hours to shoot videos and clips on Gandhi’s quote ‘Power is of two kinds: One is obtained by the fear of punishment and the other by art of love.Power based on love is a thousand times more effective and permanent than the one derived from fear of punishment.’

The semifinals for the English Debate took place the next day. Six schools qualified for the semifinals. They were: The Indian School, Mayo College (Ajmer), Mayo College Girls’ School (Ajmer), Springdales School, Pusa Road, Singapore International School (Mumbai) and Sunbeam School (Varuna).

The semifinals of the Debate were followed by the preliminary round of the Quiz. The representatives of The Indian School were Krithi Bajaj, Kartik Anand and Shrey Gogia. In the evening, Mr. Parnab Mukherjee presented a play on 100 years of Jallianwala Bagh with the students of Mayo College Girls’ School. The intensely emotional play left the audience speechless. The play was followed by the Principal’s dinner.

On 29 August, the final of the English Debate took place between four teams. The teams were: The Indian School, New Delhi, Mayo College, Ajmer, Mayo College Girls’ School, Ajmer and Springdales School, Pusa Road.

Springdales School, Pusa Road finished first in the Debate, while our School was named Runners Up. The second Runners Up was the team from Mayo College Girls’ School, Ajmer.

Our students bagged the first prize for their Creative Text Review and stood Third in the English Script Enactment. The students who participated in the English Script Enactment were Jahnnobi Roy, Anushka Saxena, Krithi Bajaj and Epari Pratyaksh Sai. Our web designers, Darsh Kumar and Kartik Anand secured the Third position in the event.

The students look forward to many such competitive conclaves where they can meet new peers, make friends, but most of all, represent their School and learn team spirit and hard work. It was an amazing experience for each one of us.

Sifti Singh Sarang, X-A and Mehar Saxena, XII-B

Comments are closed.