5th Dr Amidas Goradia Badminton Tournament 2022

Posted by on Nov 16, 2022 in School News | Comments Off

The Indian School held the annual 5th Dr Amidas Goradia Badminton Tournament 2022 for classes IX-XII after a two years hiatus from 3 – 9 November, 2022. The event aimed at instilling a healthy competitive spirit and a sense of sportsmanship and leadership in the students.

Principal Ms Tania Joshi, Vice Principal Dr Anu Singh, and Primary School Head Ms Vandana Tiwari cut the ceremonial ribbon to inaugurate the intra school sporting event.

The five categories: boys singles, boys doubles, girls singles, girls doubles and mixed doubles, offered the young shuttlers great opportunities to awaken their latent talent and put their best foot forward.

Day One witnessed an exciting display of skill and sportsmanship as the players first clashed in the girls’ singles category, then the boys’ doubles and lastly in the girls’ doubles. The matches in the third category carried over to Day Two because of overwhelming participation.

Day Two continued with the girls’ doubles, followed by the boys’ singles.

Much to the players’ disappointment, the tournament was halted midway due to pollution constraints and government regulations.

After a hiatus of four days, the tournament resumed.

The finals saw players displaying grit and determination to win the trophy in the mixed doubles’ category.

The spectators witnessed the shuttlecock whoosh breezily from one end of the court to the other in a rally of overheads, clears, drop shots and powerful smashes!

The exhilarating tournament ended with a prize distribution by Ms Tania Joshi, Dr Anu Singh and Ms Vandana Tewari.

The following students lifted the trophies in their respective categories:

Boys Singles

Winner                        – Manthan Bobal (X-C)

First runner-up            – Kartikeya Shrotriya (X-D)

Second runner-up       - Harshil Jain (X-A)

Girls Singles

Winner                         - Nandini Patel (XII-D)

First runner-up             - Mannat Sandhu (XII-C),

Second runner-up        – Devanshi Agarwal (XII-C),

Boys Doubles 

Winner                          – Manthan Bobal (IX C) and Kartikeya Shrotriya (X-D)

First runners up            – Hardik Ahlawat (X-B) and Harshil Jain (X-A)

Second runners up       - Parth Tara and Deepak (XI-A)

Girls Doubles

Winner                          – Sahambhavi Singh (IX-B) and Shloka Singh (XII-B)

First runners up             - Nehal Sharma (X-A) and Maryam Rahman (X-D)

Second runners up        – Hiya Agarwal (XI D) and Akshita Chandel (XI-C)

Mixed Doubles

Winner                           - Nandini Patel (XII-D) and Deepak (XI-A)

First runners up              – Kartikeya Srotriya (X-D) and Maryam Rahman (X-D)

Second runners up         - Parth Tara (XI-A) and Hiya Agarwal (XI-D)

For More Pictures….click here

Comments are closed.