Intra- School MUN 2022

Posted by on Oct 29, 2022 in School News | Comments Off

The Model UN trains students to grow into tomorrow’s leaders. It is hoped that the students who participate in the MUN will one day make a contribution, small or big to the cause of the world’s problems.

The intra-school Indianite Model United Nations was organised by the School Secretariat of the MUN Society on 19 and 20 October 2022 on the School premises. The two day event unfolded rigorous debates and discussions.

This year’s conference as customary, lent for a memorable experience, allowing the young delegates to make a case as it were, skilfully and confidently for solutions to international issues. They were trained by an extremely experienced Executive Board.

The first day of the Model United Nations commenced with the opening ceremony in the School auditorium. A melodious rendition of the Ganesh Vandana was presented by the School choir. Principal, Ms Tania Joshi, addressed the gathering and motivated the delegates to give their best. The Secretariat was honoured with badges by the teacher incharges, Ms Sangita Verma and Ms Deepa Chugh. Each committee discussed significant and relevant social agendas. The young, energetic delegates were guided and judged by our celebrated School alumni.

The event had various committees that caught the interest of the participants. These included :

United Nations General Assembly
Agenda- Discussed the reality of climate change and safeguarding the rights of people displaced by climate change.

United Nations Security Council
Agenda- Discussed the implementation of economic and military sanctions against states in violation of Chapter VII of the UN Charter.

United Nations Human Rights Council
Agenda- Discrimination, intolerance and incitement to violence, based on religion or belief.

United Nations Commision
Status of women
Agenda- Criminalising abortion: pro-life or pro-choice?

Agenda- Evaluation of Qatar’s social and ethnic climate in lieu of the FIFA World Cup 2022

Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha
Agenda- Deliberations on India’s progress in sectors like healtheducation, with special emphasis on the NEP

International Press Corps
Agenda- Classified

The first day focused upon brainstorming about issues in accordance with specific agendas, whereas the second day was about constructive solutions to the problems raised.

The event culminated with the closing ceremony on 20 October 2022. The Secretariat on behalf of School thanked the Executive Board members by presenting them with a token of appreciation. This was followed by the most awaited part of the event, the prize distribution ceremony. The Executive Board announced the results and felicitated the winners with a trophy and certificates. The results, committee wise, are as follows.

- [ ] Best Delegate: Denmark (Pavani Agarwal XI C)
- [ ] High Commendation: Norway (Harshil Jain X A)
- [ ] Special Mention: 1. UK (Vansh Sharma VIII A)
- [ ] Special Mention: 2. Saudi Arabia (Samiya Khurana, VIII C)
- [ ] Verbal Mention: Canada (Harleen Kaur Brar, XII B)
- [ ] Verbal Mention: Maldives (Smaarth Srivastava, IX, TISSS)

- [ ] Best Delegate: Sweden (Ekampreet Kaur Tuteja, XII D)
- [ ] High Commendation: 1. USA (Sidhartha, XI B)
- [ ] High Commendation: 2. Russia (Priyanshi sharma, VIII D)
- [ ] Special Mention: 1. Egypt (Shaurya Sharma, VIII A)
- [ ] Special Mention: 2. Ukraine (Md. Haaris, X E)
- [ ] Verbal Mention: 1. Netherlands (Hardik Ahlwat, X B)
- [ ] Verbal Mention: 2. Afghanistan (Nalini Thakur, VIII D)
- [ ] Verbal Mention: Bangladesh (Vishaka Majumdar, IX, TISSS)

- [ ] Best Journalist: Rewa Upadhyay, X B
- [ ] High Commendation: Reeba Khan, XII B
- [ ] Special Mention: Devanshi Agarwal, XII C

- [ ] Best Delegate: Nigeria (Sejal Gupta, XI A)
- [ ] High Commendation: Russia (Wanshika Saxena, XI B)

Rajya Sabha + Lok Sabha
- [ ] Best Delegate : Narendra Modi (Anthariksh Nair, XI B)
- [ ] High Commendation: Dharmendra Pradhan (Prakrit Pandey, XII B)
- [ ] Special Mention 1: Raghav Chaddha (Harmanjot Singh Nanda, XII A)
- [ ] Special Mention 2: Smriti Irani (Haritmaa Sharma, XI D)
- [ ] Verbal Mention 1: Amit Shah (Rudra Punj, XI A)
- [ ] Verbal Mention 2: Anurag Thakur (Aadya Garg, XI E)

- [ ] Best Delegate : Norway (Dhruv Sacheti, X B)
- [ ] High Commendation: UK (Md. Hamid, XII D)

FIFA (Football Federation)
- [ ] Best Delegate: UAE (Md. Ashrah, XII A)
- [ ] High Commendation: Qatar (Sasmit Dey Sarkar, XII B)
- [ ] Special Mention: 1. Russia (Mannat Arora, IX C)
- [ ] Special Mention: 2. Belgium (Akshar Yadav, IX E)
- [ ] Verbal Mention: 1. Portugal ( Kabeer Luthra, IX E)
- [ ] Verbal Mention: 2. Germany (Prateek Kochar, IX E)

The Secretariat was commended for its great effort. It comprised, Secretary General-Shaumita Dasgupta XII C, Deputy Secretary General-Aadya Sharma XII D, Director General-Riya Malhotra XII D, Deputy Director General-Manya Maitreya XII D, Chief Advisor-Vani Chadha XII D, Charge D’Affair- Divya Lamba XII C and Event Head-Manan Arora XII C, who worked under the able guidance of Principal Ms Tania Joshi and teacher incharge, Ms Deepa Chugh.

Comments are closed.