Investiture Ceremony 2020 held virtually

Posted by on Aug 8, 2020 in School News | Comments Off

The Indian School held the customary Investiture Ceremony for the new Student Council ar both, the senior and junior levels on 24 July 2020. Owing to the current pandemic the ceremony was organised online.

Investiture signifies the reliance and confidence that the school consigns in the newly invested young office bearers. Donning the mantle of accountability, they pledge to fulfil their duties to the best of their abilities.

On the morning of the scheduled day, students, teachers, parents and the newly elected council members got ready for the special occasion. The event commenced with a shloka from the Rig Veda sung by Avreen Kaur of class XIIC. The shloka describes the spirit of ‘Harmony in unity’, guiding seekers on the path of consonance so that intentions can be alike and they could speak in one voice. It also encourages people to walk ahead with positivity.

Anushka Saxena of class XIA compered the event and spoke of the qualities of a leader. She drew attention to the Citizenship Programme of our School where the values of a good citizen are the basis upon which leaders and role models are made. Therefore, at our School, investiture cannot be separated from the Citizenship Programme.

The Citizenship Programme ingrains the duties and responsibilities of the citizens of our country. It induces a ripple effect, where young citizens are the starting point for change that spreads to the whole country. The Programme empowers young children with life skills which will take them beyond academic milestones and lay a foundation for inculcating compassion, commitment, respect and resourcefulness.

Anushka, next welcomed Vice Chairperson of the Managing Committee, Ms Brinda Shroff and Principal, Ms Tania Joshi who were both present in the online ceremony. They congratulated the newly appointed office bearers and urged them to become role models. They spoke on how the new council must create a positive influence with their leadership and carry out their duties sincerely. They reminded the students to enjoy their school life while learning and acquiring knowledge.

Looking resplendent in their uniforms, each council member then took the oath. The pride and sense of dedication in their voices was palpable.

The School without doubt believes in its young leaders to protect and consolidate the values and ideals its teachers and students stand for.

The new Council (Senior and Junior) for the year 2020-21.

Council  2020-21 Senior Junior
Head Boy Ryan Suri Rayaan Paul Sah
Head Girl Gunjan Anand Munha Furqan
Discipline Captain(Boys) Harshit Verma Garvit Chhabra
Discipline Captain(Girls) Twisha Kacker Pragya Kalra
Co Curricular Captains Aryan Singh Mahim Sahani
  Mayank Ahuja  
Sports Captain Anmol Singh Gandhi Sarah Bagler
Editorial Captain Divija Puri Aryahi Das
Citizenship Captain Akshita Panwar Ananyaa Kumar
Chandra House Harshit Verma Snigdha Naug
Indra House Aashi Gupta Anugrah Massey
Varun House Avreen Kaur Shourya Madan
Surya House Gurliv Oberoi Ayushi Srivastava

Comments are closed.